Is it too early to hit a recipe rut?

Have you ever made a meal you were so excited to try and were so disappointed in the outcome?  That was me last night.  I am trying to get out of my food rut and I feel like I am failing.  I found a recipe in my Kraft Busy Family Cookbook for Creamy Chicken and Pasta Casserole.  I changed a few things in it since I am a super picky eater and only like a few vegetables.  I don’t like celery, onions or cooked red peppers so I opted for fresh green beans and corn.

I was so excited the whole time prepping thinking it was going to be so good, and it was just alright.  The chicken, cream sauce and pasta were good.  I liked the cream sauce the most.  This also happened with two other dishes I made earlier this month.  It wasn’t completely horrible; it was good, but not amazing.  I have some for leftovers tonight, I am looking forward to giving this dish a second chance.  Maybe it was my choice of vegetables or the fact that I over extended myself in the kitchen yesterday with 3 different things going on at once.  I made chicken in the crockpot for quesadillas, my apple cinnamon butterscotch chip muffins and pasta casserole.

Whatever it was I am getting tired of this ho-hum recipe rut.  Maybe next time I will make this sans vegetables.   Have you had any recipes that just fell completely flat for you?

wpid-20150123_180348.jpg

Leave a Reply

